Official Forgotten Stories promotional artwork

Persistent-run archive

Forgotten Stories Books

Open my Book checklist

Forgotten Stories Books connect one run to later attempts. The public FAQ says a signed Book usually appears immediately in a new run or lowers a requirement by three, while the Forgotten Stories Books directory exposes special cases and current public card fields.

Verified33 primary source routes · checked 2026-09-13
Open Book records39

Unique open cards after closed entries and the disclaimer card are excluded.

Typical changeRequirement −3

The official FAQ says exceptions exist.

ResourceInk

Books are signed in the Lobby with published costs on individual cards.

Evidence warningShadow patch

The public board warns that some Book values may become outdated.

Your next Book

Book unlock checklist

Keep track of your unlocks, then open a Book's requirements before your next run. This personal checklist does not sync with Roblox or unlock anything in the game.

0 of 39 Books marked unlocked

Loading your saved checklist…

Progress stays in this browser until its site data is cleared. Sharing includes only marked Book IDs; merging adds those Books without clearing your existing marks. Unlocking, writing and signing are separate game steps.

Official evidence, practical consequences

Rules and clarifications to check before your next run

Latest evidence check 2026-09-10T01:41:28.916Z. Individual check dates are retained in the source ledger. Changelog statements, older FAQ edits and dated notices are labeled separately; these are not claims of in-game testing.

Question and evidence dateWhat the source establishesLimits and next step
Narcissist and Perfectionist: the damage bonus is weapons-only

Official changelog · 2026-09-08 UTC

The September 8 official changelog restricts this Book's damage buff to weapons. Do not count it as a general spell-damage multiplier. The September 9 WIP card now agrees: each Perfection stack gives +5% weapon-attack damage, up to three stacks, with +1 Stamina regeneration while the effect is active—not +1 regeneration per stack.

The card, rather than this short announcement, describes losing all stacks after taking a hit or failing to land a Critical, plus +10% damage taken per stack on getting hit. These are documented risks, not a tested final-damage formula. Unwritten unlock: three consecutive Critical QTEs; writing costs 150 Ink Shards and signing costs 75 Ink; the written Book unlocks on spawn.

Review the Book's stack-loss conditions and costs →

Review Critical QTE conditions before choosing this Book →

Unstoppable Wind now gives +0.05 Speed, not +0.1

Official changelog · 2026-09-06 UTC

The September 6 changelog reduces Unstoppable Wind's Speed bonus from +0.1 to +0.05, and the current Book card agrees. The card still lists +5% Wind damage and the Gustwalker spell. Writing costs 200 Ink Shards and signing costs 100 Ink; the unwritten requirement is 10 Wind Affinity and 10 Weapon Mastery, reduced to 7 and 7 when written.

The Book's passive Speed bonus is not the Gust Walker status bonus. Do not replace the status's separate +0.5 Speed with +0.05, or infer that its dodge rules changed from this Book correction. Weapon Mastery is the card's wording; it does not identify a required weapon family here.

Review the Book's complete costs and requirements →

Check the separate temporary Speed and dodge effect →

Recalculate whether your Speed reaches the next threshold →

Meditate restores 4 Mana instead of 3

Official changelog · 2026-09-06 UTC

The September 6 changelog increases Meditate's Mana gain from 3 to 4. This changes recovery planning, not the number of rune slots or the requirement to learn a spell. Reflections separately lists two extra Mana from Meditation with Vulnerable +2; Strong Minded separately grants Resilient +2 when meditating without existing stacks.

The announcement does not publish a new button, energy cost, cooldown or way to exceed Max Mana. The two Books keep their own unlock conditions and drawbacks. No combined recovery, stacking interaction or risk-free Meditation rotation was tested here.

Weigh extra Mana against Vulnerable →

Check the full-Mana unlock and Resilient condition →

Match learned spells to available rune slots →

True Strength: Cestus boss damage is +15%, not +40%

Official changelog · 2026-09-06 UTC

The September 6 changelog sets True Strength's boss-damage bonus with Cestus to +15%. The current Book card agrees and still lists +40% for Punch otherwise. Its unwritten requirements are defeating a boss with Punch and punching bosses ten times; both require having a single arm. Writing costs 200 Ink Shards and signing costs 100 Ink; the written Book unlocks on spawn.

The single-arm condition is a published unlock requirement, not advice to lose an arm. The bonus does not establish a final damage result after resistance, nor prove Cestus is the best boss weapon.

Check True Strength's full unlock and stat bonuses →

Match the bonus to the boss's published defenses →

Counter: five parries, three-stack ceiling, consumed on a hit

Official changelog · 2026-09-05 UTC

Counterweight now grants one Counter after five parries instead of seven. Counter can stack to three and is consumed by landing counters, rather than decaying with turns. The counterattack's listed weapon-damage reduction is 20% for Light, 25% for Medium and 35% for Heavy. The public Counter card still restricts activation to close attacks; Counterweight's two-handed-weapon requirement is separate from that trigger.

Three is the status ceiling, not a promise that every source can generate three stacks. Parrying Dagger's card separately limits its own stack generation to one. The changelog does not state that a single hit consumes every stored stack.

Check Counterweight's write and sign requirements →

Read the close-attack restriction →

Compare Parrying Dagger's one-stack restriction →

Message-level references are grouped in this page's source ledger.

Current player questions

Book spending checklist: unlock, write, sign

Compare each Book's unwritten and written thresholds separately. Writing and signing use differently named resources on the cards; do not add them into one interchangeable currency total.

Baseline public Trello WIP checked 2026-09-08T01:33:25.085Z; later checks are dated per answer. Relevant official clarifications appear above. First collected or corrected details are not necessarily a new live update.

Player questionPublished answerRisk and next step
Is Bodybuilding a free physical upgrade for a mixed caster?

WIP checked 2026-09-13T01:34:32.154Z

Its revised Physical Damage bonus is +2.5%, previously +2%. The same card retains Defense +1 and Max Stamina +2, but Elemental Damage −30% and Max Mana −3. It needs 15 Physique unwritten or 12 written, with 100 Ink Shards to write and 50 Ink to sign.

The limb-loss check scales from three times Resilience according to the card. No probability cap or guarantee is supplied, so this is not immunity or a way to regrow limbs. Compare the Mana and elemental penalties before spending resources on a hybrid build.

Check Physique requirements without overinvesting affinity points →
Does Vampire now grant a fixed one-stack proc?

WIP checked 2026-09-13T01:34:32.154Z

The revised card says weapon damage grants Bloodthirst stacks according to weapon weight type; it no longer describes a chance for a fixed +1 stack. Unwritten requirements are 10 Void affinity and 20 total Health lifestealed; written requires 7 Void. Write for 150 Ink Shards and sign for 75 Ink.

No light, medium or heavy stack quantities are published. Do not invent a proc rate or recommend a weapon solely from this wording. The Book lists 2% Lifesteal but −20% Fire and Order resistance; gaining it is not a cure for wounds or a revive.

Read the status before choosing a weapon-weight plan →
Unstoppable Wind: Book bonus or spell buff?

The Book now lists +0.05 Speed and +5% Wind damage, plus Gustwalker. Write for 200 Ink Shards and sign for 100 Ink; its Wind Affinity and Weapon Mastery thresholds are 10/10 unwritten, 7/7 written.

Do not confuse the Book's +0.05 with Gust Walker's separate temporary +0.5 Speed, which is removed on hit or at fight end.

Check when the temporary Gust Walker bonus ends →
Reflections: more Mana with what drawback?

Unlock the unwritten Book by meditating twice in a row. The written version unlocks on spawn. Writing costs 100 Ink Shards; signing costs 50 Ink. Meditation then lists two extra Mana but also Vulnerable +2; the Book adds Max Mana +1 and Elemental Damage +1%.

Extra recovery has a defensive cost. The September 6 base Meditate change does not establish a tested combined total, overflow above Max Mana or a safe repeated-action loop.

Read the incoming-damage risk before meditating →
Strong Minded: why meditate at full Mana?

Meditating while already at Max Mana is its unwritten unlock condition; the written version unlocks on spawn. Write for 100 Ink Shards and sign for 50 Ink. The passive grants Resilient +2 only if no stacks are already present; the Book adds Max Runes +1 and Resilience +3%.

The full-Mana unlock does not imply Mana overflow. The no-existing-stacks condition is not an unlimited Resilient stacking method, and the Book's +3% Resilience is separate from the status.

Separate the Book bonus from the Resilient status →
Hailreign Chronicles

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

Write: 200 Ink Shards. Sign: 100 Ink. Unwritten: 15 Wind and 10 Water; written: 12 Wind and 7 Water. Grants Blizzard and Icicle, with +5% Wind and Water damage.

Its passive separately gives Water/Wind attacks a 65% chance to inflict Chilled. That is not a spell drop rate or guaranteed freeze. Boiling Burst has an explicit exception: it does not apply Chill with this Book.

Compare Blizzard area hits with Icicle's Chilled effect →
Pressure Chamber

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

Write: 200 Ink Shards. Sign: 100 Ink. Unwritten: 10 Fire and Water; written: 7 Fire and Water. Grants Boiling Burst and publishes +2.5% Fire and Water damage.

The steam passive consumes Ablaze when Water attacks hit burning enemies. No exact explosion formula is established here. Boiling Burst does not apply Chill with Hailreign Chronicles, according to its current spell card.

Understand Boiling Burst's condition →
Counterweight

Write: 100 Ink Shards. Sign: 50 Ink. Heavy Mastery requirement: 10 unwritten or 7 written. With two-handed weapons, parrying five attacks builds one Counter stack. The card also lists +2% Physical Damage, Slash Resistance and Blunt Resistance.

Counter only activates on close attacks and weakens the basic attack according to weapon weight. The September 5 changelog sets a maximum of three stacks, consumed by landing counters rather than by turns.

Read Counter's close-attack restriction and scaling →
Why has Camping Guide not unlocked after exploring?

The unwritten requirement combines 50 explored tiles and three different biomes in one game. Writing costs 100 Ink Shards and signing costs 50 Ink; the written Book unlocks on spawn. Its card lists Max Stamina +1 and Resilience +3%.

Progress across different runs is not stated to count. Its 10% shorter map-travel time requires everyone to own the Book, not just one party member.

Check Camping Guide's separate Aftermath recovery bonus →
Does signing Stonewhisperers Guide remove every requirement?

Unwritten: mine 10 ores with 5 Runesight points. Written: gain 5 Runesight. It costs 60 Ink Shards to write and 30 Ink to sign. The passive lists a 20% reduction in empty-tile chance and a 35% chance to instantly shatter stone nodes, plus Luck +5%.

Five Runesight remains a requirement. Instant shattering is not a 35% gem drop rate; no baseline empty-tile chance or guaranteed ore route is supplied.

Compare the separate mining-gem passive without inventing a combined chance →
What must I do before using Bloodwired Tome?

The unwritten Book requires 15 Void Affinity, 10 Order Affinity, and defeating both Carcass and Carnage. Written requirements are 12 Void and 7 Order. Write for 300 Ink Shards and sign for 150 Ink; it grants Bloodwire.

The Book also lists Incoming and Outgoing Healing −30%, Max Health −5 and Order Resistance −20%. This is a costly unlock with recovery penalties, not a free spell upgrade.

Prepare for Carcass before attempting the two-boss requirement →
What must I unlock before casting the four Infusions?

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

Arts of Infusion costs 200 Ink Shards to write and 100 Ink to sign. Unwritten: 10 Order Affinity plus 5 each in Fire, Water, Earth and Wind. Written: 7 Order plus 4 each in the other four affinities. It grants Fire, Water, Earth and Wind Infusion; bonuses are Resilience +2% and Elemental Damage +2.5%.

The fourth spell link was previously mislabeled Water Infusion and now reads Wind Infusion; its target already pointed to Wind. This is a documentation correction, not proof of a newly added spell. Unlock thresholds are unchanged, and the Book is not a free permanent enchantment on every weapon.

Compare normal and Critical Infusion casts →
Which Book unlocks Chaos Chain and Skystruck?

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

The Chaostatic Book lists both spells. Write for 200 Ink Shards and sign for 100 Ink. Unwritten requirements are 15 Chaos and 10 Earth Affinity; written requirements are 12 Chaos and 7 Earth. Its listed stat bonuses are Chaos Damage +5% and Earth Damage +5%.

Chaostatic is both a Book name and a status name. The Book's unlock requirements are not the status's damage rule. Chaos Chain's card reopening is a documentation-state change, not proof of a new spell release.

Inspect Chaos Chain's reopened card and dated base damage →
Why has Living Garden not unlocked from affinities alone?

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

The unwritten Book also requires defeating an Aggrovant: 10 Earth and Order, 5 Water and Wind, plus that boss condition. The written requirement lists 7 Earth and Order and 4 Water and Wind. Write for 200 Ink Shards, sign for 100 Ink; it grants Bloom and Fragrance.

Outgoing Healing +10% comes with Incoming Healing −20%. Helping allies more does not mean receiving stronger heals yourself. The written requirement omits the boss condition, but this is WIP documentation rather than a tested unlock walkthrough.

Check Aggrovant's attack cues before the Book requirement →
Does Binary Codex let me pick the Mirage Eye target?

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

Its turret prioritises enemies without Chaostatic, then targets randomly if all enemies have it. Summon Mirage Eye applies Mirage Eye +5 to self. Unwritten: 15 Chaos Affinity and defeat Supreme Chaos; written: 12 Chaos. The Book costs 300 Ink Shards to write and 150 Ink to sign, with Max Runes +1, Chaos Damage +5% and Chaos Resistance +5%.

Priority is not manual target selection. Mirage Eye +5 is the named effect amount, not evidence of five independent turrets. The card does not publish an exact firing schedule or guaranteed total damage.

Prepare for the Binary Codex boss requirement →

Source-linked records

Search the records

39 records. Search includes the full requirements and effects; expand a result to read its source fields.

39 of 39 recordsSource dates shown per record
Vampire public source preview
BooksPublic Trello · Open card

Vampire

Other · Void

Read all Vampire requirements, effects and limits

Description

“A story from creatures that where able to absorb the life from other beings.” ~ Ingame Costs 150 Ink Shards to write Costs 75 Ink to sign

Obtainment

Unwritten: Reach 10 Void affinity and lifesteal a total of 20 health Written: Reach 7 Void affinity

Passives

Dealing damage with weapons will grant you Bloodthirst stacks depending on its weight type.

Stat Bonuses

Lifesteal: 2% Fire Resistance: -20% Order Resistance: -20%

Public WIP card text, not a live-build test. Card activity can include non-gameplay edits.
Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z
Abigails Diary public source preview
BooksPublic Trello · Open card

Abigails Diary

Read all Abigails Diary requirements, effects and limits

Description

“Abigail left this book behind, this looks like the life of an ordinary person, perhaps and adventuring one… Some pages are torned off.” ~ Ingame Costs 300 Ink Shards to write Costs 150 Ink to sign

Obtainment

Unwritten: Defeat 10 enemies using claws skills. Defeat Abigail (Defeat in anyway) Written: Defeat 5 enemies using claws.

Passives

Gain action Killthirst

Stat Bonuses

Lifesteal: 1% Physical Damage: +2.5%

Effects

Applies Killthirst +4 to self.

Public WIP card text, not a live-build test. Card activity can include non-gameplay edits.
Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z
Bodybuilding public source preview
BooksPublic Trello · Open card

Bodybuilding

Physical

Read all Bodybuilding requirements, effects and limits

Description

“A guide for training the muscles of the body and looking pretty tough!” ~ Ingame Costs 100 Ink Shards to write Costs 50 Ink to sign

Obtainment

Unwritten: Reach 15 Physique Written: Reach 12 Physique

Passives

Resilience will also perform a check to determine whether you lose a limb or not. This passive scales off 3 times your resilience

Stat Bonuses

Physical Damage: +2.5% Elemental Damage: -30% Defense: +1 Max Mana: -3 Max Stamina: +2

Public WIP card text, not a live-build test. Card activity can include non-gameplay edits.
Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z
Narcissist and Perfectionist public source preview
BooksPublic Trello · Open card

Narcissist and Perfectionist

Official updateOfficial changelog, September 3: it now grants +1 Stamina regeneration only while at least one stack is active.

Other

Read all Narcissist and Perfectionist requirements, effects and limits

Description

“You know everything is gonna be the way you want, after all you never fail, right?” ~ Ingame Costs 150 Ink Shards to write Costs 75 Ink to sign

Obtainment

Unwritten: Complete 3 Critical QTEs in a row. Written: Unlocked on spawn

Passives

Gain Perfection Stacks to a max of 3 landing criticals, each giving you 5% more damage on weapon attacks, while active you will also gain 1 stamina regen. Getting hit makes you lose all of them and take +10% extra damage per stack. Not landing a critical will remove all stacks.

Stat Bonuses

Block Reduction: -10% Defense Points: -1% Luck: +2% Resilience: +2%

Public WIP card text, not a live-build test. Card activity can include non-gameplay edits.
Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z

35 more source-linked records remain.

Practical route

Putting it into practice

  1. 01

    Find the Book

    Search the public directory by name, element, weapon family, or other label.

  2. 02

    Compare unwritten and written

    Use the current card to inspect requirements, Ink Shards, signing cost, effects, and exceptions.

  3. 03

    Recheck before signing

    The board is WIP and specifically warns that Book values can move after patches.

Source-linked media

Images and demonstrations

Abigails Diary source preview
Public WIPAbigails DiaryBooks card preview from the public work-in-progress board.
The Beauty of Flora source preview
Public WIPThe Beauty of FloraBooks card preview from the public work-in-progress board.
Elemental Knowledge source preview
Public WIPElemental KnowledgeBooks card preview from the public work-in-progress board.
Blademaster source preview
Public WIPBlademasterBooks card preview from the public work-in-progress board.

Limits to keep in mind

How we check sources →

Direct answers

Common questions

What do Books do between runs?

A signed Book usually appears immediately in later runs or lowers a requirement by three, with special exceptions.

How many Books are in the open directory?

The cleaned 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z snapshot retains 39 unique open Book records.

Are Books permanent truth?

No. The public board is WIP and warns that Book values may become outdated.

Do Books use Ink?

Yes. Individual cards publish Ink Shard writing costs and Ink signing costs when available.

Primary evidence

Sources and check dates

Official DiscordOfficial changelogs

Owner-authored balance note covering Narcissist and Perfectionist Stamina regeneration and Gustwalker after battle.

Official DiscordInheritance and Books FAQ

Book signing, requirement reduction, exceptions, Dreamer, and Damned.

Public TrelloForgotten Stories public Trello

Open work-in-progress records checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z.

Public Trello WIPHailreign Chronicles

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-04T02:38:20.356Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPPressure Chamber

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-25T14:30:24.128Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPCounterweight

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-05T05:40:28.760Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPCounter

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-05T05:49:49.676Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPUnstoppable Wind

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-06T23:56:39.443Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPGust Walker

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-04T19:42:20.776Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPReflections

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-25T19:55:36.531Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPStrong Minded

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-25T19:56:10.635Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPVulnerable

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-19T01:22:47.624Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPResilient

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-19T01:44:41.600Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPCamping Guide

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-25T20:05:45.670Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPStonewhisperers Guide

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-06T18:12:34.949Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPBloodwired Tome

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-29T06:14:00.951Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPNarcissist and Perfectionist

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-09T06:19:40.490Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPVampire

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-11T03:40:46.263Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPBloodthirst

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-30T10:19:48.408Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPBodybuilding

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-10T11:13:34.679Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Official DiscordPerfection damage applies only to weapons

Posted 2026-09-08T16:04:51.980Z; checked 2026-09-10T01:41:28.916Z.

Official DiscordUnstoppable Wind Speed reduction

Posted 2026-09-06T13:44:37.645Z; checked 2026-09-07T01:38:54.287Z.

Official DiscordMeditate Mana recovery increase

Posted 2026-09-06T13:54:31.940Z; checked 2026-09-07T01:38:54.287Z.

Official DiscordTrue Strength Cestus correction

Posted 2026-09-06T00:52:12.652Z; checked 2026-09-06T03:10:47.686Z.

Official DiscordCounterweight threshold and weight scaling

Posted 2026-09-05T05:13:48.165Z; checked 2026-09-06T03:10:47.686Z.

Official DiscordCounter stack and consumption rules

Posted 2026-09-05T05:47:25.755Z; checked 2026-09-06T03:10:47.686Z.

Public Trello WIPArts of Infusion (Books)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-09-08T13:40:40.651Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPChaostatic (Books)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-26T15:48:14.780Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPChaos Chain (Spells)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-09-08T18:19:59.685Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPSkystruck (Spells)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-31T01:38:59.416Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPLiving Garden (Books)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-09-04T02:36:50.112Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPBinary Codex (Books)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-09-03T14:06:52.496Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPChaostatic (Status Effects)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-19T01:52:14.798Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.