Official Forgotten Stories promotional artwork

Buff and debuff field guide

Forgotten Stories Status Effects

Forgotten Stories Status Effects include public buffs and debuffs with stack, damage, Speed, resistance, or treatment rules when a card publishes them. The Forgotten Stories Status Effects page keeps dangerous cures near official FAQ evidence and leaves unfinished fields visible.

Verified29 primary source routes · checked 2026-09-13
Open status records49

Unique open cards after placeholders and closed records are excluded.

Deep WoundsBandage / Critical Waters

Cleansing Waters removes it only on a Critical Cast in the current WIP card.

InfectionVial / Critical Waters

Cleansing Waters removes it only on a Critical Cast in the current WIP card.

VenomedAntidote / Waters

FAQ lists both; the Cleansing Waters cast variant remains unresolved.

Official evidence, practical consequences

Rules and clarifications to check before your next run

Latest evidence check 2026-09-13T01:36:37.265Z. Individual check dates are retained in the source ledger. Changelog statements, older FAQ edits and dated notices are labeled separately; these are not claims of in-game testing.

Question and evidence dateWhat the source establishesLimits and next step
Cursed Inferno: the announced DoT base starts at 6

Official changelog · 2026-09-10 UTC

The September 10 changelog increases Cursed Inferno's damage-over-time base start to 6. This names a DoT starting value, not total damage or a new cast requirement.

The post does not specify a new number of ticks, tick interval, full progression or final resisted damage. No matching standalone card was found in this review; do not equate the name with My Brutal Inferno or invent an obtainment route. Do not multiply six by an invented duration or present tested DPS.

Keep DoT starting damage separate from extra-rune damage →

Dagger Frenzy: seven landed weapon hits, then a conditional bonus

Official changelog · 2026-09-08 UTC

Racco's September 8 announcement adds Frenzy to Dagger. Landing seven hits with the weapon grants Frenzy +1; weapon hits through skills or Counter can count. The announced effect gives +0.5 Speed and +1 PEN. The September 13 Trello check now finds Frenzy on the Dagger card and a separate status card listing the same bonuses. This is documentation catching up, not a second new passive.

Seven hits does not mean seven turns or seven button presses. The statement does not publish a stack ceiling, duration, reset rule or the exact hit count of Assault. Do not claim one Assault guarantees Frenzy, that all dagger-named off-hands gain it, or that the effect restores permanent base weapon Speed. Use your displayed Speed in the existing tool; no live stacking test was performed.

Read Dagger's Stab and Assault costs →

Check which close attacks can trigger Counter →

Check the next threshold with Frenzy actually active →

Counter: five parries, three-stack ceiling, consumed on a hit

Official changelog · 2026-09-05 UTC

Counterweight now grants one Counter after five parries instead of seven. Counter can stack to three and is consumed by landing counters, rather than decaying with turns. The counterattack's listed weapon-damage reduction is 20% for Light, 25% for Medium and 35% for Heavy. The public Counter card still restricts activation to close attacks; Counterweight's two-handed-weapon requirement is separate from that trigger.

Three is the status ceiling, not a promise that every source can generate three stacks. Parrying Dagger's card separately limits its own stack generation to one. The changelog does not state that a single hit consumes every stored stack.

Check Counterweight's write and sign requirements →

Read the close-attack restriction →

Compare Parrying Dagger's one-stack restriction →

Venomed: the official FAQ also lists Cleansing Waters

Official FAQ clarification · 2026-08-21 UTC · edited 2026-09-02

The Game Mechanics FAQ explicitly lists Antidote or a mage's Cleansing Waters for Venomed. That supports the spell as a treatment route; it should not be described as wholly unverified. Antidote's current card also lists removal of Venomed, Dazed, Weakness and Blindness, plus 15 Health and 5 Stamina.

The FAQ does not specify normal versus Critical casting. The Trello Critical text names Venomed but links to Bleed. The healing tool therefore marks the spell's Venomed route as partial for a selected cast, rather than guaranteeing removal on either variant. Deepwound and Infection removal are explicitly Critical-only in the spell card.

Compare the treatments for your selected condition →

Inspect normal and Critical cast details →

Check Antidote's ingredients and known recovery →

Message-level references are grouped in this page's source ledger.

Current player questions

Pressure, Counter and Gust Walker: important limits

Treat the status rule and the move that consumes it as two connected records. Where they differ in detail, the distinction remains visible.

Baseline public Trello WIP checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; later checks are dated per answer. Relevant official clarifications appear above. First collected or corrected details are not necessarily a new live update.

Player questionPublished answerRisk and next step
Why did a few Dazed stacks make defending harder before I was stunned?

WIP checked 2026-09-10T07:38:03.684207+00:00

Dazed already lists −30% dodge and parry frames. At five stacks it clears Dazed and applies Stunned to a player, or Stunned +3 to a mob. Bosses use a separate fifteen-stack threshold and receive Stunned +2. The defensive penalty therefore matters before the stun threshold is reached.

The listed −30% is not a published per-stack multiplier: do not turn four stacks into −120%. The card does not specify a player's Stunned duration, and the threshold does not override a target's immunity or prove a permanent stun loop.

Check the separate player, mob and boss thresholds →
Duelist Dance +0.4: is this permanent weapon Speed?

No. Rapier's current passive grants Duelist Dance +1 after three dodges, while the status card now lists +0.4 Speed instead of its prior +0.3. The Rapier base-stat Speed line has been removed.

Only the weapon Speed removal has a matching official changelog in this review. The status amount is current WIP documentation; its duration, maximum stacks and repeated-trigger behavior remain unspecified.

Read the dodge condition and Rapier's action costs →
How much does Pressure add?

The Pressure card gives three damage per stack, involving Physical, Wind and Slash. Harlod's Reveal Wounds adds a base three in its formula: 3 + (stacks × 3).

Three damage types do not mean nine damage per stack. The expression is card-listed damage, not a tested final result after defenses.

See which Harlod moves build or consume Pressure →
Why did Counter not trigger?

The current card restricts it to close attacks. It performs a weakened basic weapon attack after the enemy attack ends: Light −20%, Medium −25%, Heavy −35%.

These are weapon scaling reductions, not flat damage values. Counterweight requires five parries and a two-handed weapon to build one stack; the official changelog caps Counter at three and consumes it on landed counters, not turns.

Check Counterweight unlock and stacking conditions →
When does Gust Walker disappear?

The current card lists +0.5 Speed, 15% larger dodge windows and −15% dodge cooldown. It is removed on hit and at fight end, consistent with the earlier official fight-end correction.

Do not carry this bonus into a post-battle calculation or claim permanent dodge improvements.

Compare Speed without assuming temporary buffs persist →
Why does Chilled freeze a mob sooner than a boss?

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

The Chilled card gives separate thresholds: at 5 stacks on a mob, remove Chilled and apply Frozen +3; at 15 stacks on a boss, remove Chilled and apply Frozen +2. It also lists Speed −0.3 and incoming Wind/Water damage +10%. Boiling Burst's current card explicitly says it does not apply Chill with Hailreign Chronicles.

These thresholds do not override an enemy's immunity. Do not read the listed stat effects as a proven per-stack scaling formula, or count every Boiling Burst hit as another chance to reach the freeze threshold.

Read the explicit Boiling Burst and Hailreign exception →
Which Infused effect matches the support I need?

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

The open status cards describe Fire Infused as Ablaze plus Fire-type weapon damage, Water Infused as +1 PEN on weapon attacks plus Water damage, and Earth Infused as Dazed plus Earth-type weapon damage. The open Wind Infused card lists +0.4 Speed and Wind-type weapon damage.

No duration, proc stack count, conversion percentage or universal stacking rule is supplied. Wind Infusion's source link points to the archived duplicate, not the open Wind status card; the open text is a comparison reference, not proof that link has been repaired in-game.

Review all five affinity requirements before choosing Infusions →
When does Chaostatic chain damage to another target?

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

The status card says taking Chaos damage chains to other Chaostatic-affected teammates with 50% less damage. Chaos Chain applies the status; Binary Codex's turret prioritises enemies that do not yet have it. These descriptions explain why status coverage and targeting matter.

The wording does not provide recursive bounce rules, a full final-damage formula or a guaranteed team wipe. Read the affected side carefully: 'teammates' refers to those on the side receiving the status, not an unconditional benefit to the player's party.

Read the exact Chaostatic status wording →
Why does Frozen end after a hit, and can I freeze-lock a boss?

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

The Frozen card says the affected target does not get a turn, incoming damage bypasses resistances, and incoming Wind/Water damage increases by 20%. It breaks with a single hit. Bosses gain one instance of Frozen immunity after receiving Frozen.

The immunity wording does not publish its duration or reset condition. Do not promise permanent freeze-lock or multiple boosted hits from one freeze. Bypassing resistances is not the same as explicitly ignoring every defense system.

Read Frozen's single-hit break and boss-immunity wording →
When does Mirage Eye fire, and what damage is actually listed?

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

The separate Mirage Eye status card says it zaps enemies at the start of your turn, dealing 5 Chaos base damage and applying Chaostatic +2. It prioritises enemies without Chaostatic, then chooses randomly if every enemy has it.

Five is base damage, not a guaranteed final hit. The status card does not establish how many attacks the Book's Mirage Eye +5 lasts for, or a recursive chain formula. The schedule comes from this status card, not from assuming five turrets or five turns.

Check the Book's boss requirement, costs and Summon action →

Source-linked records

Search the records

49 records. Search includes the full requirements and effects; expand a result to read its source fields.

49 of 49 recordsSource dates shown per record
Frenzy public source preview
Status EffectsPublic Trello · Open card

Frenzy

Read all Frenzy requirements, effects and limits

Published details

- +0.5 Speed and +1 PEN

Public WIP card text, not a live-build test. Card activity can include non-gameplay edits.
Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z
Duelist Dance public source preview
Status EffectsPublic Trello · Open card

Duelist Dance

Read all Duelist Dance requirements, effects and limits

Published details

- +0.4 Speed

Public WIP card text, not a live-build test. Card activity can include non-gameplay edits.
Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z
Status EffectsPublic Trello · Open card

Raging Flame

Read all Raging Flame requirements, effects and limits

Published details

- +15% Outgoing Damage, +1 PEN and Ablaze on weapon attacks, -40% incoming healing, Deals 4 damage + x1.5% of the current health per turn. Youll die if your knocked.

Public WIP card text, not a live-build test. Card activity can include non-gameplay edits.
Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z
Counter public source preview
Status EffectsPublic Trello · Open card

Counter

Read all Counter requirements, effects and limits

Published details

Do a weakened basic weapon attack varying based on weapon weight after your enemies attack ended. (Only activates on close attacks) Weapon Scaling: Light -20% Medium -25% Heavy -35%

Public WIP card text, not a live-build test. Card activity can include non-gameplay edits.
Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z

45 more source-linked records remain.

Practical route

Putting it into practice

  1. 01

    Search the status name

    Filter the public directory by effect, stack, damage type, Speed, resistance, or cure language.

  2. 02

    Read stack conditions

    Use only published thresholds and transformations, such as Chilled becoming Frozen.

  3. 03

    Use the verified cure

    Match Deep Wounds, Infection, and Venomed to their official treatment routes.

Source-linked media

Images and demonstrations

Chaostatic source preview
Public WIPChaostaticBooks card preview from the public work-in-progress board.
Earth Mantle source preview
Public WIPEarth MantleSpells card preview from the public work-in-progress board.
Ablaze source preview
Public WIPAblazeStatus Effects card preview from the public work-in-progress board.
Punishment source preview
Public WIPPunishmentStatus Effects card preview from the public work-in-progress board.

Limits to keep in mind

How we check sources →

Direct answers

Common questions

How many Status Effects are open?

The cleaned public directory retains 49 unique open records.

Which Status Effects need Sterilized Bandage?

Sterilized Bandage treats Deep Wounds; the current Cleansing Waters card removes it only on a Critical Cast.

How is Infection treated in Status Effects?

Purging Vial treats Infection; the current Cleansing Waters card removes it only on a Critical Cast.

What treats Venomed in Status Effects?

Antidote removes Venomed and lists 15 Health and 5 Stamina restored. The official FAQ also lists Cleansing Waters, but normal versus Critical removal is unresolved.

Primary evidence

Sources and check dates

Official DiscordHealing FAQ

Published healing routes and status cures.

Official DiscordGame Mechanics treatment FAQ

Posted 2026-08-21T18:02:46.754Z; edited 2026-09-02T15:36:00+08:00 (minute precision); checked 2026-09-06T03:10:47.686Z.

Public TrelloForgotten Stories public Trello

Open work-in-progress records checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z.

Public Trello WIPCleansing Waters public card

Checked 2026-09-08T02:26:57.050438Z. Deep Wounds and Infection removal require a Critical Cast; wound treatment does not establish resurrection.

Public Trello WIPPressure

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-04T15:44:50.677Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPHarlod

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-09T12:46:20.407Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPCounter

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-05T05:49:49.676Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPCounterweight

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-05T05:40:28.760Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPGust Walker

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-04T19:42:20.776Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPDuelist Dance

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-06T16:14:13.910Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPRapier

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-06T16:12:15.972Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPDazed

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-29T17:58:10.918Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Official DiscordCursed Inferno DoT starting value

Posted 2026-09-10T16:16:26.536Z; checked 2026-09-13T01:36:37.265Z.

Official DiscordDagger Frenzy trigger and bonuses

Posted 2026-09-08T16:44:47.344Z; checked 2026-09-10T01:41:28.916Z.

Official DiscordCounterweight threshold and weight scaling

Posted 2026-09-05T05:13:48.165Z; checked 2026-09-06T03:10:47.686Z.

Official DiscordCounter stack and consumption rules

Posted 2026-09-05T05:47:25.755Z; checked 2026-09-06T03:10:47.686Z.

Public Trello WIPChilled (Status Effects)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-30T00:49:06.768Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPFrozen (Status Effects)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-27T22:24:02.165Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPBoiling Burst (Spells)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-09-08T19:54:09.049Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPHailreign Chronicles (Books)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-09-04T02:38:20.356Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPFire Infused (Status Effects)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-19T01:51:55.480Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPWater Infused (Status Effects)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-19T01:51:49.014Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPEarth Infused (Status Effects)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-19T01:51:53.348Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPWind Infused (Status Effects)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-19T01:51:51.197Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPWind Infusion (Spells)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-26T20:26:14.847Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPChaostatic (Status Effects)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-19T01:52:14.798Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPChaos Chain (Spells)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-09-08T18:19:59.685Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPBinary Codex (Books)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-09-03T14:06:52.496Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPMirage Eye (Status Effects)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-09-03T14:06:29.044Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.