Official Forgotten Stories promotional artwork

Rune archive

Forgotten Stories Spells

Find a spell and its Rune pattern

Forgotten Stories Spells are unlocked through Books and cast by entering published Rune combinations. The Forgotten Stories Spells page combines the official Rune rules with public spell cards while keeping missing effects, exact combinations, and changing requirements visible.

Verified31 primary source routes · checked 2026-09-13
Open spell records32

Unique open public cards after closed duplicates and placeholders are excluded.

Extra damage Rune+20% base

September 10 changelog supersedes the older 30% FAQ figure.

Extra Buff Rune+1 turn

Published duration increase per extra Rune.

Rune Slot growthEvery 10 Runesight

Some equipment and Inheritances can also increase slots.

Source-linked records

Search the records

32 records. Search includes the full requirements and effects; expand a result to read its source fields.

32 of 32 recordsSource dates shown per record
SpellsPublic Trello · Open card

Mend

Healing · Order

Read all Mend requirements, effects and limits

Rune Pattern

Obtainment

Starter Spell

Spell Effect

Heals a single targeted party member and reduces Bleed by 2

Healing Calculation

Healing is capped at 15hp on cast. (Still affected by targets incoming healing)

Public WIP card text, not a live-build test. Card activity can include non-gameplay edits.
Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z
Boiling Burst public source preview
SpellsPublic Trello · Open card

Boiling Burst

Fire · Water

Read all Boiling Burst requirements, effects and limits

Base Rune Pattern

Obtainment

Pressure Chamber

Effect

Deals 5 hits of Water damage to targeted enemy. If ablazed, consume ablaze to deal AOE damage. Critical: Adds an extra hit to the spell, totalling up to 6. DOES NOT APPLY CHILL IF USED WITH HAILREIGN CHRONICLES

Public WIP card text, not a live-build test. Card activity can include non-gameplay edits.
Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z
Chaos Chain public source preview
SpellsPublic Trello · Open card · Official base-damage update

Chaos Chain

Also listed as Chaoschain

Official correctionSeptember 8 official base damage: 11 (was 13). Trello checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z: the card is open again. Card reopening is not proof of a newly released spell; obtainment and status effects remain WIP documentation. The Discord message was last checked 2026-09-08T02:52:54.969Z. Read the spell damage announcement and source ledger →

Chaos · Earth

Read all Chaos Chain requirements, effects and limits

Official base damage

Base damage: 11 (previously 13), announced September 8. This is not a final hit or Critical damage calculation.

Base Rune Pattern

Obtainment

Chaostatic

Effects

Deals Chaos damage and applies Chaostatic +3 Critical: Applies an additional stack of Chaostatic

WIP card text with the explicitly labeled official correction above. The unchanged raw card remains in the source archive; this is not a live-build test.
Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z
Cursed Incineration public source preview
SpellsPublic Trello · Open card

Cursed Incineration

Fire · Void

Read all Cursed Incineration requirements, effects and limits

Base Rune Pattern

Obtainment

War Crematory

Effect

Deals Void and Fire damage and applies Cursed Flame +4 to one target enemy Critical: Applies an additional stack of Cursed Flame

Public WIP card text, not a live-build test. Card activity can include non-gameplay edits.
Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z

28 more source-linked records remain.

Choose your next step

Your first spellcasting route

Learning a spell, fitting its runes and paying its Mana cost are separate checks. Follow this order before spending on a magic build.

1 · Learn before entering runes

Unlock and write the spell's Book, then read its rune pattern and requirements in the directory. A spell seen through the Tome is not automatically learned.

Unwritten and written Book requirements differ. Elemental Knowledge is a progression option after its unlock condition, not a substitute for learning a specific spell.

2 · Budget slots and affinities

Check your available Rune Slots against the chosen spell. Use the Stats tool to plan Runesight and Physique within their shared cap.

Having enough Mana does not provide missing slots or satisfy affinity requirements. Extra damage runes and extra buff runes follow different published rules.

3 · Plan a recovery action

The September 6 announcement raises base Meditate recovery to 4 Mana. Compare Reflections for its extra recovery and Strong Minded for its conditional Resilient effect.

Reflections also applies Vulnerable. No combined recovery total, overflow above Max Mana or safe repeated-action rotation was tested here.

Check your stat budget and Speed →

Official evidence, practical consequences

Rules and clarifications to check before your next run

Latest evidence check 2026-09-13T01:36:37.265Z. Individual check dates are retained in the source ledger. Changelog statements, older FAQ edits and dated notices are labeled separately; these are not claims of in-game testing.

Question and evidence dateWhat the source establishesLimits and next step
Extra damage runes: use the newer 20% announcement

Official changelog · 2026-09-10 UTC

The September 10 changelog lowers the upcasting damage increase from 30% to 20%. Read this with the older FAQ's definition of extra runes above a spell's base requirement: the old 30% damage figure is superseded. The FAQ's separate +1 buff-duration turn per extra rune was not changed in this post.

Do not apply the percentage to healing or multiply all equipment and affinity bonuses into a claimed final hit. The announcement does not establish rounding, a complete stacking formula or a new rune-slot limit. More rune slots still do not teach a spell.

Check the Book required to learn the spell →

Check affinity capacity separately from rune slots →

Affinity damage scaling: 1.5%, not the former 2%

Official changelog · 2026-09-10 UTC

The September 10 changelog changes affinity damage scaling from 2% to 1.5%. This is a damage-scaling correction, not an announcement of higher affinity caps or a new way to allocate skill points.

The brief post does not publish a complete final-damage equation or change the separately documented Physique and Runesight bonuses. Do not replace every percentage on the stat screen with 1.5% or infer a best build from this single value.

Plan within the existing shared affinity cap →

Separate affinity scaling from extra-rune damage →

Dreamer: equipped Tome bonuses and a Health discrepancy

Official changelog · 2026-09-10 UTC

The September 10 announcement gives an equipped Dreamer Tome +1 Mana regeneration and +1 PEN for elemental-type damage. Dreamer's innate elemental-damage bonuses are 2.5% / 5% / 7.5% across levels, and its innate Health reduction is fixed at −6. The current cards now include the elemental bonuses and Tome stat lines.

The WIP Dreamer card still lists −8 / −7 / −6 Health; the newer official fixed −6 statement takes precedence in this guide. The Tome card's generic PEN line does not override the announced elemental restriction. Unequipped bonuses, regeneration timing and the conflicting base spell pools remain unverified.

Compare Dreamer levels and the unresolved rune pool →

Check Tome mode selection and Book-progress restriction →

Cursed Inferno: the announced DoT base starts at 6

Official changelog · 2026-09-10 UTC

The September 10 changelog increases Cursed Inferno's damage-over-time base start to 6. This names a DoT starting value, not total damage or a new cast requirement.

The post does not specify a new number of ticks, tick interval, full progression or final resisted damage. No matching standalone card was found in this review; do not equate the name with My Brutal Inferno or invent an obtainment route. Do not multiply six by an invented duration or present tested DPS.

Keep DoT starting damage separate from extra-rune damage →

Compare the documented status-effect rules →

Narcissist and Perfectionist: the damage bonus is weapons-only

Official changelog · 2026-09-08 UTC

The September 8 official changelog restricts this Book's damage buff to weapons. Do not count it as a general spell-damage multiplier. The September 9 WIP card now agrees: each Perfection stack gives +5% weapon-attack damage, up to three stacks, with +1 Stamina regeneration while the effect is active—not +1 regeneration per stack.

The card, rather than this short announcement, describes losing all stacks after taking a hit or failing to land a Critical, plus +10% damage taken per stack on getting hit. These are documented risks, not a tested final-damage formula. Unwritten unlock: three consecutive Critical QTEs; writing costs 150 Ink Shards and signing costs 75 Ink; the written Book unlocks on spawn.

Review the Book's stack-loss conditions and costs →

Review Critical QTE conditions before choosing this Book →

September 8: Skystruck base damage is 20; Chaoschain is 11

Official changelog · 2026-09-08 UTC

Racco's September 8 changelog reduces Skystruck base damage from 24 to 20 and Chaoschain from 13 to 11. Skystruck's open Trello card does not list a base number. The Chaos Chain reference was archived at the September 8 check, but the September 9 public-board check finds it open again. Its card is now included in the spell directory, with the dated official base damage distinguished from WIP effects.

This announcement changes base damage only. It does not provide a final hit, Critical multiplier, scaling formula, cost or tier ranking. Reopening a Trello card is not a new spell-release announcement. The Discord statement remains the September 8 evidence, not a new September 9 collection. No live-game damage test was performed.

Check Skystruck's announced base damage and WIP effects →

Read Chaos Chain's reopened card and damage evidence →

Unstoppable Wind now gives +0.05 Speed, not +0.1

Official changelog · 2026-09-06 UTC

The September 6 changelog reduces Unstoppable Wind's Speed bonus from +0.1 to +0.05, and the current Book card agrees. The card still lists +5% Wind damage and the Gustwalker spell. Writing costs 200 Ink Shards and signing costs 100 Ink; the unwritten requirement is 10 Wind Affinity and 10 Weapon Mastery, reduced to 7 and 7 when written.

The Book's passive Speed bonus is not the Gust Walker status bonus. Do not replace the status's separate +0.5 Speed with +0.05, or infer that its dodge rules changed from this Book correction. Weapon Mastery is the card's wording; it does not identify a required weapon family here.

Review the Book's complete costs and requirements →

Check the separate temporary Speed and dodge effect →

Recalculate whether your Speed reaches the next threshold →

Meditate restores 4 Mana instead of 3

Official changelog · 2026-09-06 UTC

The September 6 changelog increases Meditate's Mana gain from 3 to 4. This changes recovery planning, not the number of rune slots or the requirement to learn a spell. Reflections separately lists two extra Mana from Meditation with Vulnerable +2; Strong Minded separately grants Resilient +2 when meditating without existing stacks.

The announcement does not publish a new button, energy cost, cooldown or way to exceed Max Mana. The two Books keep their own unlock conditions and drawbacks. No combined recovery, stacking interaction or risk-free Meditation rotation was tested here.

Weigh extra Mana against Vulnerable →

Check the full-Mana unlock and Resilient condition →

Tome of Dreams now has zero cooldown—not free spell learning

Official changelog · 2026-09-05 UTC

The September 5 changelog sets Tome of Dreams cooldown to zero. This is a cooldown change only: the artifact card still describes random spell selection, halved mana cost and no progress toward obtaining Books from those casts. The official spell FAQ says seeing a spell through the Tome does not let you manually cast it without first unlocking and writing its Book.

Zero cooldown does not mean zero mana cost or unlimited actions. The artifact card describes a 3–9-rune pool, while The Dreamer card describes a 2–6 base pool with 3–9 at level three. That cross-card pool distinction remains unresolved; do not assume every Dreamer level has the larger pool.

Compare the Tome's modes and mana rule →

Review Dreamer levels and the pool discrepancy →

Find the Book needed to learn a spell →

Venomed: the official FAQ also lists Cleansing Waters

Official FAQ clarification · 2026-08-21 UTC · edited 2026-09-02

The Game Mechanics FAQ explicitly lists Antidote or a mage's Cleansing Waters for Venomed. That supports the spell as a treatment route; it should not be described as wholly unverified. Antidote's current card also lists removal of Venomed, Dazed, Weakness and Blindness, plus 15 Health and 5 Stamina.

The FAQ does not specify normal versus Critical casting. The Trello Critical text names Venomed but links to Bleed. The healing tool therefore marks the spell's Venomed route as partial for a selected cast, rather than guaranteeing removal on either variant. Deepwound and Infection removal are explicitly Critical-only in the spell card.

Compare the treatments for your selected condition →

Inspect normal and Critical cast details →

Check Antidote's ingredients and known recovery →

Message-level references are grouped in this page's source ledger.

Current player questions

Choose a spell by its unlock and job

These are current public-card rules, not a claim that every entry changed in the latest live patch. A pattern image is only the input reference: check the linked Book requirement before building around a spell.

Baseline public Trello WIP checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; later checks are dated per answer. Relevant official clarifications appear above. First collected or corrected details are not necessarily a new live update.

Player questionPublished answerRisk and next step
More Mana, more rune slots, or more learned spells?

These solve different problems. Wand lists Max Mana +4 and Max Runes +1; Strong Minded also lists Max Runes +1. The official Meditate correction above changes Mana recovery to 4, not rune capacity. You still need to learn the Book that grants the spell.

The equipment and Book bonuses do not unlock every spell. Staff's Two-Handed wording conflicts with the FAQ's broad hand restriction and its own Staff guidance; Bow explicitly lists a casting exception. Check the specific record rather than treating hand labels as a universal rule.

Compare Wand, Staff and Bow casting evidence →
Blizzard or Icicle?

Both come from Hailreign Chronicles. Blizzard lists five Water/Wind hits against all enemies, or six on Critical. Icicle targets one enemy, applies Chilled +2, and adds one more Chilled stack on Critical.

Different target counts and status effects do not establish which spell has the highest final damage. No per-hit damage value is supplied here.

Check Hailreign's costs and affinity requirements →
How does Boiling Burst become area damage?

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

Pressure Chamber grants Boiling Burst. Its card lists five Water hits, six on Critical, and consuming Ablaze for area damage. The Book separately says Water attacks on burning enemies consume Ablaze to create a steam explosion.

Do not assume the explosion's damage, radius or number of hits; those fields are not established by this wording. The September 9 card check explicitly says Boiling Burst does not apply Chill with Hailreign Chronicles; do not use its five or six hits as a freeze-building plan.

Check Pressure Chamber before spending Ink →
Why does normal Cleansing Waters not cure Infection?

The normal cast heals one party member, reduces most debuffs by three stacks and adds Regeneration +3. Critical raises reduction to five, adds another Regeneration stack, and explicitly names Infection and Deepwound removal.

The official Game Mechanics FAQ also lists Cleansing Waters for Venomed. The Trello Critical label links to Bleed, so the exact cast variant remains uncertain; see the official clarification and healing comparison below.

Compare recovery and condition-specific treatments →
How many Infusion stacks does a normal or Critical cast apply?

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

Each of the four spell cards targets one party member and applies its matching Infused effect +3. Critical adds one more stack, making four from that cast. All four list Arts of Infusion as their Book source.

A four-stack application is not a proven maximum, duration or per-stack damage multiplier. Wind Infusion still links an archived Wind Infused card even though a same-name open status card exists; that source-link mismatch is preserved instead of silently treated as corrected.

Compare the four Infused effects and the Wind source mismatch →
Where is Chaos Chain, and what does its reopened card establish?

WIP checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z

The September 9 public-board check finds Chaos Chain open again. The card points to the Chaostatic Book, lists Chaos damage and Chaostatic +3, with one additional status stack on Critical. The separately retained September 8 official statement sets base damage to 11.

Do not multiply 11 by status stacks or treat it as final hit damage. The reopening does not establish a new release date, mana cost or tested availability. The Book and the same-name Chaostatic status have different roles.

Open the Chaostatic Book's costs and affinity conditions →
Why should I stop using the old Mend rune formula?

WIP checked 2026-09-10T01:32:37.446Z

The current WIP source replaced the Order-affinity/extra-rune healing expression with a 15-HP on-cast cap, still affected by the target's incoming healing. It remains a starter spell that heals one selected party member and reduces Bleed by two.

This is a documented card revision, not a newly confirmed Discord patch. It does not give enough information to compute final healing, rune scaling or a guaranteed Critical result. Runevorant's separate enemy move named Mend is not the player spell.

Compare fixed consumable recovery with Mend's unknown final result →

Practical route

Putting it into practice

  1. 01

    Unlock the spell Book

    Knowing a Rune pattern is not enough; the spell must be unlocked and written into the run.

  2. 02

    Check available Rune Slots

    Runesight, equipment, Staff or Wand, and some Inheritances can affect capacity.

  3. 03

    Add Runes with the correct rule

    Extra damage Runes and extra Buff Runes use different published scaling.

Source-linked media

Images and demonstrations

Magic System Guide (TBA) source preview
Public WIPMagic System Guide (TBA)Spells card preview from the public work-in-progress board.
Water source preview
Public WIPWaterSpells card preview from the public work-in-progress board.
Water Shoot source preview
Public WIPWater ShootSpells card preview from the public work-in-progress board.
Wind source preview
Public WIPWindSpells card preview from the public work-in-progress board.

Limits to keep in mind

How we check sources →

Direct answers

Common questions

How are Spells cast?

Players enter the same Rune combination shown in the Bookshelf after unlocking the spell through a Book.

How many Spells are open?

The cleaned public snapshot retains 32 unique open spell records.

What do extra Runes do to Spells?

The September 10 changelog lowers extra-rune damage scaling to 20%. The FAQ separately lists one additional Buff turn; that duration was not changed in the post.

Can Spells be cast with a disabled left hand?

No, according to the official public FAQ.

Primary evidence

Sources and check dates

Official DiscordOfficial changelogs

Owner-authored balance note covering Narcissist and Perfectionist Stamina regeneration and Gustwalker after battle.

Official DiscordSpell learning and Tome limitation

Posted 2026-08-21T18:02:36.114Z; edited 2026-09-04T23:28:00+08:00 (minute precision); checked 2026-09-06T03:10:47.686Z.

Public TrelloForgotten Stories public Trello

Open work-in-progress records checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z.

Public Trello WIPChaos Chain (Spells)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-09-08T18:19:59.685Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPBlizzard

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-05T07:55:50.306Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPIcicle

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-05T07:56:18.589Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPHailreign Chronicles

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-04T02:38:20.356Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPBoiling Burst

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-08T19:54:09.049Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPPressure Chamber

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-25T14:30:24.128Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPCleansing Waters

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-01T17:46:52.907Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPWand

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-25T08:05:28.184Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPStaff

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-25T08:05:20.882Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPBow

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-09-01T17:35:15.391Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPStrong Minded

Checked 2026-09-13T01:38:18.558Z; card activity 2026-08-25T19:56:10.635Z. Documentation is not proof of a live patch.

Public Trello WIPMend

Checked 2026-09-10T01:32:37.446Z; source activity 2026-09-09T03:37:01.785Z. Activity is not a dedicated publication or edit timestamp. Not live-drop testing.

Official DiscordUpcasting increase reduced to 20%

Posted 2026-09-10T17:47:59.009Z; checked 2026-09-13T01:36:37.265Z.

Official DiscordAffinity scaling correction

Posted 2026-09-10T17:50:54.366Z; checked 2026-09-13T01:36:37.265Z.

Official DiscordCursed Inferno DoT starting value

Posted 2026-09-10T16:16:26.536Z; checked 2026-09-13T01:36:37.265Z.

Official DiscordPerfection damage applies only to weapons

Posted 2026-09-08T16:04:51.980Z; checked 2026-09-10T01:41:28.916Z.

Official DiscordSkystruck and Chaoschain base-damage reductions

Posted 2026-09-08T02:03:02.350Z; checked 2026-09-08T02:52:54.969Z.

Official DiscordUnstoppable Wind Speed reduction

Posted 2026-09-06T13:44:37.645Z; checked 2026-09-07T01:38:54.287Z.

Official DiscordMeditate Mana recovery increase

Posted 2026-09-06T13:54:31.940Z; checked 2026-09-07T01:38:54.287Z.

Official DiscordTome cooldown set to zero

Posted 2026-09-05T04:37:26.147Z; checked 2026-09-06T03:10:47.686Z.

Official DiscordGame Mechanics treatment FAQ

Posted 2026-08-21T18:02:46.754Z; edited 2026-09-02T15:36:00+08:00 (minute precision); checked 2026-09-06T03:10:47.686Z.

Public Trello WIPFire Infusion (Spells)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-26T23:01:08.999Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPWater Infusion (Spells)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-26T23:00:49.571Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPEarth Infusion (Spells)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-26T23:00:25.184Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPWind Infusion (Spells)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-26T20:26:14.847Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPArts of Infusion (Books)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-09-08T13:40:40.651Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPChaostatic (Books)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-26T15:48:14.780Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.

Public Trello WIPChaostatic (Status Effects)

Checked 2026-09-09T01:32:55.199Z; source activity 2026-08-19T01:52:14.798Z. No live-game test; first collected detail is not necessarily a new update.